music · Songs of the Month

Songs of the Month: February

c_scale-f_auto-w_706-v1486663229-this-song-is-sick-media-image-nao-kaytra-mura-1486663229546-jpg-1

 

It’s February! Here are my musical tracks for this month, read, watch and listen (hope you all enjoyed your pancakes)!

Track 1:

Watch My Back // BASECAMP

This musical trio produce haunting melodies and grip listeners with their seductive vocals. Aaron Miller, Aaron Harmon and Jordan Reyes hail from Nashville, unwind to their brooding tones and R&B laced vibes. Think artists like  SBTRKT, James Blake and Sampha, if you like them you’ll love Basecamp.

Track 2:

Piece by Piece // The HUNNA

Came across these guys a while back as they were a suggested page for me to like on Facebook. I checked them out and they were certainly far from a disappointment. From Hertfordshire, the four-piece indie rock band take inspiration from the likes of Kings of Leon and Foals. This particular single has a 1975-esque sound, but overall they remind me a little bit of Circa Waves. If you need a song to sing-a-long to with a bit of air guitar action at 1am, this is it.

Track 3:

Get to Know Ya // NAO (Kaytranada Flip)

The only 2 artists I have written album reviews for on my blog have collaborated… can you tell they’re two of my favourites? So after the success of her debut album ‘For All We Know’, NAO decided to release ‘For All We Know The Remixes’ EP, collaborations include Mura Masa, LOXE / Stormzy, SBTRKT and Sam Gellaitry.

As if the original wasn’t great enough, Kaytra’s remix of ‘Get To Know Ya’ just further emphasises NAO’s wonky funk aesthetic. Whatever Kaytranada touches, whether it’s his own music, remixing or just producing tracks, he can do no wrong. That baseline though…

Track 4:

Boiling // Disclosure ft. Sinead Harnett

This is a little throwback track, gosh I wish I could see Disclosure live again. The duo always deliver on  electronic, chilled vibes and a crisp production. Sinead Harnett steals the show with this one though, her soaring vocals are soothing. This is pretty much summer in a song, yet it snowed today…  I’m basically torturing myself listening to songs that remind me of summer. Blue skies and warm weather please hurry?

So that’s it for this month, BASECAMP, The Hunna, NAO/Kaytranada and Disclosure, let me know what you think of my picks this month and suggestions for next month are welcome too. If you make music or know anyone who does, send me a link, you could feature in my March edition!

Leave a Reply

